Thread: Microtek i800 versus Epson V750

Microtek i800 versus Epson V750

I have been using an Epson 4870 for several years for scanning 5X7" negatives (fluid mounted) with output of no more than about 3X. The results have been very satisfactory, but the bed size, which is less than 8X10, is not fully satisfactory since I would also like to scan for proofing purposes only a full roll of 120 medium format film in one pass. So I am now considering the Epson V700 or V750 or the Microtek i800. Here are my major critieria, and I would like opinions on which scanner would best fit my needs at the best price.

1. SilverFast Ai is required. If not included in package I will purchases separately.

2. Wano be able to scan a full roll of medium format film in one pass, and want a holder that will keep the negatives or slides tight and off the glass of the bed.

3. Want the option to use the scanner with fluid mounting.

4. Major purpose of the scanner will be for scanning 6X9 cm and 5X7" negatives for output at no more than about 5-6X.

Looking at prices on the web tends to strongly favor the Microtek i800. Is there any real advantage to the higher dpi rating of the Epson 750 that should make me lean that way?

Sandy King

Re: Microtek i800 versus Epson V750

Can't answer for the Microtek. The 750 is a great scanner but the 120 film holder should be replaced with Doug Fishers to get the most out of it and maybe his fluid mounter too. I am beta testing his right now for him.

Also isn't MT coming out with a new one this month or next?
    Thanks,
    Kirk

at age 73:
    "The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep"

Quote Originally Posted by Kirk Gittings View Post