Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Photoshop with black and white

lazy retired bum

Photoshop with black and white

In my 4x5 and medium format work, I shoot exclusively black and white, TMAX 100. I have recently begun a major foray (many $$$) into black and white hybrid digital with a Microtek 1800f scanner, Nikon 9000 scanner, and Epson 3800 printer. The few inkjet prints I have produced are very encouraging, even compared to my own darkroom prints, and I've been printing in the darkroom for 40+ years.

I have used Photoshop for a few years with my small format 35mm color work (scanned slides) and with direct digital color capture (Nikon DSLR). I am moderately familiar with using Photoshop in general and am currently using the CS3 beta. It is a quite impressive program, in my view. I have read Blatner and Fraser's Photoshop CS book and Martin Evening's CS2 book.

Neither of these resources answer my many questions about using Photoshop for black and white.

Does anyone know of a good resource for a person like myself, years of shooting 4x5, moderate though not extensive experience scanning, and moderate experience with Photoshop? Surely with the advent of high quality black and white printers such as the Epson 2400, and the *800 series, 3800, 4800, etc, and the new Canon and HP dye printers, someone can see a place for a book or monograph on monochrome image work with Photoshop.

Thanks for any help.

Eric

Re: Photoshop with black and white

Hi Eric, As you know this site has lots of talented people willing to share their knowledge. I will bet if you post some specific questions about what you are trying to accomplish in PS someone will be able to help you.

I have found many of the books on ps to be helpful even with black and white. I would just ignore the parts that are specific to color only. Many of the things are virtualy the same like levels, sharpening, dust removal, curves, sharpening and so on.