Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My end of year fundraiser print sale

My end of year fundraiser print sale

Hi folks,

Through the end of this year, and into January, I am hosting a special print offer on my website, www.claudiocambon.com , to fundraise for a new photographic project I will undertake in Mexico sometime in 2007.
    I invite you to take a look at new work on my site, much of which was made with the support I received in prior, similar offers held in these last few years. I am an artist supported by his extended community.
    As with the past sales that I have held, I have listed much of my work at almost half its gallery price. Some prints are as low as $125, as I am offering some of the older portfolios, such as the shipbreaking and ranch series, in new, smaller sizes. Everything is under $400 in an effort to make the work as affordable and accessible as possible.
    I continue to make my own black and white silver gelatin prints in a traditional, fume filled darkroom, but have added color archival inkjet prints to my vocabulary recently; these are made for me with great care by the one and only Digital Fusion here in the Los Angeles area. The prints are part of my standard editions that are to be found in museum and private collections worldwide.
    All proceeds will fund this new project, which I am very excited about. Two years ago I traveled with a friend to a remote village in the state of Veracruz, Mexico called “El Porvenir, #2”, which loosely translates to “The Future, #2”. (There is one portrait in the Mexico section that comes from there.) I came to learn that ‘El Porvenir’ is a common name for small towns and villages in Mexico, and it occurred to me that I would like to photograph in every one of them, from the Texas border to the edge of Guatemala! Simply put, I have always been interested in how much of a person’s past shows in a photograph, which is instead very much a moment in the present. Why not in a place called the future?!