Thread: Some thoughts on scan quality and inkjet printing

Some thoughts on scan quality and inkjet printing

I am a fine art photographer, and I work almost exclusively in black&white, 4 x 5". I never thought I'd even consider making inkjet prints, but since my favorite paper (Agfa) has become unavailable, and there is no good alternative, I have had to think again. The problem with inkjet papers has been - compared to a fiber-base silver print - that the image appears to be on top of, instead of below the paper surface. There are some interesting new papers now (I have to admit I haven't seen them yet), that mimic the surface of an air-dried fiber-base print.
    And then there are the very interesting new HP printers, with a clear ink cartridge, that hopefully will help the image to "sink" below the surface.

This is good news, because I don't want anyone to notice that my prints are made with a different technology. I have been selling prints for more than 25 years, and I wouldn't like a situation where a buyer says something like - "Hey, why does the print you sold me look so different to the one a friend of mine bought in 1995? It's the same picture, but it looks different."
    Well - my printing does change over time - I print a little lighter now than ten years ago - but what I'm talking about here, is the feel of the paper.

Then there is image quality - and scanners.
    At the moment I have two flatbeds - a 4990 and a V750. (I am not sure which one to keep, because they produce identical results.) Anyway, I've made some tests, scanning a couple of negatives, and printing 13 x 19" crops of the full scan (which is 26 x 33", 300 dpi), and compared these with traditional 26 x 33" prints made in my darkroom with a Schneider Apo-Componon HM 150 mm lens (at f/11, in case anyone's interested). Inkjet prints were made with an Epson 2400 on Epson Premium Luster. (too much texture for my taste, but 100 sheets came with the printer)