Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lenses Suitable for 11x14 Wet Plate

Lenses Suitable for 11x14 Wet Plate

Hi,

I'm new to LF (and this forum) and decided to go about things the hard way and start out with 11x14 wetplate. I've been looking for lenses suitable for that format and ones with will give a period look to my plates. I found this one on ebay and was wondering if anyone had any input on whether or not this might be a good lens to start out with. I have an 11x14 studio camera so the front standard is really big and can handle the big lenses.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Giant-450mm-f4-B...QQcmdZViewItem

thanks,

Walt

Re: Lenses Suitable for 11x14 Wet Plate

That one ought to work just fine. Looks like it's re-assembled cockeyed to me though. Seems like the slot for the waterhouse stops should be inside the cut out portion of the outer barrel.

I have some questions about the guy's calculations; If it were really a 450mm f4 lens it would have a FRONT (rear is irrelevant to these calculations) diameter of 112mm or so, not 86mm.

On second glance, after reading Jim's post, I think this is a lens to be wary of; it looks very wrong, the element could possible be reversed, and I have no idea what that slot is doing there.

Perhaps you should keep on looking. My suggestion for a cheaper (relatively) and compact 11x14 lens is a 19" f6 Dallmeyer 5D.

It's my lens and there is nothing wrong with it. The slot for stops was added later. The elements ARE not reversed. I used f4 as a basis when shooting wide open and the it worked fine when shooting tri-x. I develop by inspection, so I may have been slightly off (my wife would say more than "slightly"!). As I said in my auction, the glass is very very clean and throws an 18" image circle, of which 11x14 is certainly sharp when shot at infinity. It's a marvelous lens. It is very very similar (almost identical) in appearance to the larger Dallmeyer I've used when shooting 11x14.

All metric sizes to 24x30 Ole Tjugen's Avatar