Thread: GoodTable Top Photography Book

GoodTable Top Photography Book

Hello, I just started practicing table top photography with my view camera and 210 mm Schnieder lens. Focusing is my biggest challenge. Has anyone come across a good table top technique book(s)? Thanks! Craig Murphy

Try Using the View Camera by Steve Simmons. His explanations/illustrations are clear, free from jargon. You can duplicate the techniques he discusses

I'll put in a plug for the always popular View Camera Technique by Stroebel. Dry but excellent.

The books by Simmons and Stroebel are both excellent. I'd like to throw in three additional titles.

"Photo Know-How" (Carl Koch, Jost J. Marchesi) is a good text. It's based entirely around the Sinar view camera system, but what's in it is good info and it applies to any LF system. It's set up in a workbook layout which, once you get into it, is a nice arrangement. It covers all kinds of stuff, but it has lots of information that should be useful for tabletop photography.

The second book, while not specifically about tabletop photography, should be useful. "Professional Lighting Technique" (Jost J. Marchesi) is, as the title suggests, about lighting technique. It's based around the Broncolor system, but again, the information should be applicable to any lighting system.

"Secrets of Studio Still Life Photography" by Gary Perweiler is a great book with all kinds of cool techniques. Numerous photos are provided and then dissected in terms of technique, desired end result, etc. All the information is well laid out and easy to understand. Lighting diagrams abound and clearly illustrate the creative process from beginning to end.

Just a thought...