Thread: State of the art large format lenses for 4x5 and 5x7

State of the art large format lenses for 4x5 and 5x7

I am a long time photographer principally versed in the use of medium format cam eras. Recently, I purchased a Canham 5x7 camera which I will be using in the 4x5 and 5x7 formats.My work is 100% B&W. I own presently only a Schneider Apo 210 m m lens which I use for both formats. I do not live in a country where I can conv eniently test lenses before purchase. I would therefore like to know what are th e absolute best lenses that I can purchase in the focal lengths of ca. 90, 120, 300 and 360 mm (for 4x5) that will be also used when I am working with the 5x7 f ormat. I am aware that the focal lengths are not equivalent. I am intersted in l enses that besides for having the best resolution possible and are also excepti onally contrasty. I have read conflicting comments on German versus Japanese gla ss. What is the truth behind the comment that Japanese lenses are warmer than Ge rman lenses? Should the new 110 mm 5.6XL Super Symmar lens from Schneider be con sidered based on the above considerations?

Recently a photographer (Loui Benson) showed me transparencies he got with the 110XL. He said it was the best wide-angle he has ever used and improved significantly on the classical wa lenses (ie super-angulon, grandagons, sw). He is preparing an article on this lens for the LF home page.

You'd really be hard-pressed to go wrong with a current lens from any of the Big Four (Fuji, Nikkor, Rodenstock, and Schneider). ("Sinaron" and "Caltar"--aka "C alumet" are just Rodenstocks with a different name stamped on them; there is no optical difference and neither brand gets any focal lengths or apertures that ar en't offered under the Rodenstock name as well. Caltars cost less than Rodenstoc ks--new, although the resale value is disproportionately less--Sinaron costs mor e than Rodenstock does although some Sinarons have special trim.)