Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Who to contact for a tripod permit in NYC

Who to contact for a tripod permit in NYC

I've heard that there is such a thing as a "tripod permit" in NYC, but my search of the nyc.gov pages hasn't turned up anything. Does anyone know who/where to contact to get one of these? I'm not a pro or anything, but I do alot of shooting in New York and I think it's at least worth looking in to. Thanks.

Re: Who to contact for a tripod permit in NYC

Send $75 to my office for Upstate New York. I think David Goldfarb is handling the city these days. But if you can't reach David, Mr. Bloomberg can still hook you up:

http://www.nyc.gov/html/film/html/pe...download.shtml

http://www.nyc.gov/html/film/html/index/index.shtml

Of course you still have to pay the usual street gangs and thugs. Be careful...

I think if you use common sense and avoid trying to set up on a busy sidewalk at rush hour you get away with it for the typical 5-10 minute outdoor shoot. But it all depends...
    Last edited by Frank Petronio; 11-Nov-2006 at 05:22.

Wow! I guess I am a country bumpkin! A permit to set up a tripod?!

Once I saw a young man trying to set up a tripod to take the very original picture of the tall narrow skyscraper down on the Broadway... He didn't even open the tripod and already had a policeman visiting him. "Do you have a permit...?" It was a no no from both sides after.
    On the other hand, once I went in Bronx with my tripod in a tripod case, getting plenty of admiring attention from those guys on street, some meaningful smiles too. They thought I had a gun in it and was brave enough to go public. I never took the pictures from that park when I noticed it was the local drug shop... Speak about bravery.