Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tripod Head Question

Grego

Tripod Head Question

Hello,
    Very much enjoying this site. I'm new to LF photography, and I'm trying to get quality equipment without becoming a member of the "Bankruptcy" forum, but I'm very particular about my gear, so here goes.
    I'm considering the Linhof Technikardan 44S. Seems many here like the Gitzo tripods. Could you please tell me what head type is preferred, ball, pan, geared. Will the ball type work? I like the look of the Linhof expert tripod (supports 22 lb) with the Linhof Profi II ballhead (supports 17.6 lbs).
    Thankee

Re: Tripod Head Question

Hello Greg,
    I initially used an Arca Swiss ball head but quickly switched to a geared head from Manfrotto/Bogen as I was constantly frustrated trying to level the camera. The 410/405 bogen heads are very good.
    best,
    chris

Greg,

I can't remember the weight of your camera but would highly, highly recommend either a Manfrotto 405 or 410 geared head for your camera. The Gitzo 1325 would also be the way to go as it's a carbon fiber tripod... keeps the weight manageable.

Price wise... the 410 is going to run you under US$175.00. The 405 is going to run you approximately double that price. But, IMHO, it's still worth the extra dollars.

I wouldn't (personally) recommend a ball head since it can be a pita if you're trying to make changes on one axis or the other. For me, as careful as I was with a B1 head, after loosening up the locks, the camera (partly because of its weight) always moved in more than one axis resulting in having to reposition the camera for the framing of the image I wanted. In other words, there's far more control with a geared head than a free-floating ball head.

But, having said that... there ARE some folks who like using a ball head with their LF cameras. I suppose it's just a matter of getting use to one system over the other. I have the 405 and absolutely love it!

Cheers
    Life in the fast lane!