Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which non-jobo motor base for my jobo 3010?

Question Which non-jobo motor base for my jobo 3010?

Hello,

I'm new to developing 4x5 negs. As the title states, I'm looking for a cheap motorized base solution for my jobo expert 3010 tank. I noticed the two most commonly mentioned bases are the one by beseler and the one by unicolor.

Can anyone tell me their experiences with either (mention specific models please). I am interested to know if there would be a variation in development times, etc with a non jobo base (when compared to a jobo processor).

I think I read somewhere that Jobo recommends a 50rpm speed and reverse after 2 rotations, some of the beselers are around 15rpm I believe. Another thing I read was that a 5 minute presoak (using a jobo machine) will give similar development times to tray development charts. Would this still apply as a starting point? (I plan on testing, but want a basis to start on for dev times)

I know that there are some beseler motors that feature reverse and it seems like most people disable the reverse and manually turn the tank every minute or so because the diameter is too large on the jobo for a complete rotation. Is this correct?

Thanks in advance, Dan
    Last edited by optV; 14-Sep-2006 at 16:10.

Re: Which non-jobo motor base for my jobo 3010?

The development times will be shorter with the Jobo, by about 20%.

I hand roll my 3006 on the $20 Jobo roller base. It is easy to maintain a constant rotation speed.

Look for Grey Wolf Philliip's article on the Large Format Home Page for info on the Unicolor. I use one (actually I've got 3) and its worked out very well for me.
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White

Quote Originally Posted by optV
    Hello,