Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pyrocat HD question

Pyrocat HD question

I have been using t-max rs for many years and I am not happy with it.

I am interested in trying Pyrocat-HD to develop t-max 100 4x5.

Do you still benefit from a staining developer If you scan and print digitaly? Everything I have been reading refers to enlarging to silver vc paper.

I am in search of richer tones in my landscape photography.

Also I live in South Florida where the water is very warm in the summer months. Will this developer work well at 75f?

Thanks in advance.

Re: Pyrocat HD question

I have not tried Pyrocat-HD yet (I will be running tests soon), but many of the posts I have read on this site mention that the stain masks grain and therefore is beneficial for negatives intended for scanning.

Search for posts by Sandy King or Pyrocat-hd and scanning. There has been loads of discussion on this site on this subject in the past year.

One theory is that the difficulty in scanning metalic silver images is due at least in part to Callier Effect. If, for a given density, you take away some of the silver and replace that density with stain, it stands to reason that you'd deminish Callier Effect. The question is, is it enough to matter?

I don't have an answer to that yet. I've been looking around, but not finding any comprehensive answer on the 'net or in the forums. So I'm resigned to doing the testing myself.

I'm interested in Pyrocat-HD primarily because it creates a stain that is more neutral. I'm thinking it might scan more easily. I'm also interested because many people swear by it, particularly for rotary processing which I will be doing.

I'm going to compare Pyrocat-HD to XTOL 1:3 for my tests. It'll be interesting to see how the negatives, and then the scans, compare. The thing I'm looking for, like you, is better tonality in my scans. Sadly, it's probably going to be several months before I get a chance to do the work. Sigh...

Bruce Watson