Thread: How much lens coverage is enough?

How much lens coverage is enough?

Hi, I'm fairly new to large format, and have been fretting over buying my first lens and the issue of lens coverage. Is there a rule of thumb or general guideline to go by when figuring out how much coverage you need and how much coverage a lens provides? For instance, I'm planning on purchasing either a 135mm or 150mm lens for use in landscapes and occasional architecture with a 4x5 monorail view camera. I want to have adequate coverage area to be able to use plenty of movements so my setup can handle any possible situations I may encounter. How much coverage is enough?

On a related sidebar, I've been looking into getting a Rodenstock Apo Sironar S 135/5.6 or 150/5.6. What type of coverage do these lenses have, and is it enough for the above said applications?

Thanks.

Re: How much lens coverage is enough?

How much depends on what you're doing. Landscape isn't that demanding. OTOH buildings are more demanding. Some one doing portraits could get by with very little coverage.

http://www.linos.com/pages/mediabase...r-s_e_2475.pdf

The APO Sironar S series is the current leader for coverage in the conventional f/5.6 plasmat lens series. Either the 135mm (208mm IC) or 150mm (231mm IC) lens will provide you with ample coverage for most normal situations. Anything that needs to have more coverage than that will start to be a lens that's designed for 5x7 or 8x10 and will be much larger and more expensive. The primary situation that would need that kind of coverage on 4x5 would be architectural photography using a monorail. I have the 150mm APO Sironar S and I have to twist my poor little Wista DX field camera into a knot to hit the edge of the image circle. It has more image circle than I need or use.

My personal feelings regarding coverage/image circles:

155mm - just barely covers the 4x5 format. No movements, not really useable.