Thread: At what magnificaiton ratio will Macro lens supercede normal lenses?

At what magnificaiton ratio will Macro lens supercede normal lenses?

I have no previous experience in LF macro work. I wanted to buy a new macro len s as mentioned in another thread. In my investigations, I have been told by som e good sources that any new LF lens can be used for Macro. The consensus is tha t most new normal LF lenses can get to 1:1 magnification with no problem. Is th is correct? If so, where does the need for a macro lens begin to surface? 2:1 3:1 4:1 ???? Is the bellows extension the same for normal lenses vs. macros? Is resolution much sharper in Macro lenses? I find it hard to beleive lens makers would design macro lenses if their normal lenses would suffice. I am very interested to learn where the differenc es lie...Any input would be helpful, thank you all...

Thank you Nathan for directing me to a old thread which helped answer this question. The very informative and generous response was from Dan Smith.. I cut and pasted it for everyones review. So I guess as suspected, the magnificaiton ratio seems to be where the macro excels over normal lenses, i.e. life size and greater. I guess seeing things side by side, makes all the difference, vs. looking at one and not the other, something very few of us ever get the opportunity to do. What a wonderful forum! ;-)

Here is the copy...