Thread: Using a Polaroid 545 Back for the First Time

Using a Polaroid 545 Back for the First Time

OK....This isn't really a question any more, but a note on my experience. Maybe another beginner can benefot from it, and you pros can fall out of your chairs laughing.

I am an amateur photographer. I've been doing 4x5 since about September 1999 wh en I got my Toyo 45A. I am self taught - from internet and books. I do not liv e in NYC or LA where you can spit and hit another LF photographer to whom you ca n questions. I have to drive half-way across the state to find a store that sel ls 4x5 film. I had never personally SEEN a 4x5 camera until mine arrived via UP S.

Anyway, when getting ready to purchase the camera, I was collecting accessories. I got a used 545 Polaroid back, because everything I read talked about how imp ortant it was for proofing, etc. (I digress here for a minute). When I began s hooting, I found that I could shoot several sheets of Tri-X or TMax for what a s heet of polaroid cost. And after shooting a polaroid, if you want enlargements or copies, you STILL needed to shoot film. I figure if I have an exposure quest ion, I can bracket. I can see where polaroids are useful if you have some compl ex flash set-up, and that's the only way you can see the effect, or if you're a pro on a shoot, and want to be VERY sure every is working, or a client wants an idea of what things look like, but I concluded that I, personally, had little us e for it.