Thread: More stupid questions about jobo expert drums

More stupid questions about jobo expert drums

I appologize for possibly missing this in another thread but I am new to the world of Jobo and the expert drums (just got a 3010). And I wanted to utilize a Beseler motor base that I have had lying around for too long.The first of my questions is this: What is the proper number of rotations per minute for the drum? The drum instructions state 50, I have seen in posts that people are hand rolling 40, and when I time the motor base that I have it is giving me 32. Any help on this would be greatly apriciated.

And for my second question: Are the instructions correct for the expert drum (3010) it only requires 210ml (just under 8 ounces) of chemicals?

Thank you for your time, Robert

Re: More stupid questions about jobo expert drums

It does not really matter, as long as you are consistent with your development. Before I was able to buy a CPP2 I used the besler motor base with great success. The only thing you have to watch out for is the drum creeping off the base, they do it even when you try and level the base.

Yes the solution quantities are accurate if you are using the Jobo base, I would use a greater amount if you plan to go with the slower besler base, you have nothing to loose but a few pennies on developer...

Good luck.

For rotation I use the lowest speed with which my Jobo CPP-2 is stable - about 30 rpm. The CPP-2 reverses direction after just a bit more than two revolutions. I suspect your 32rpm should be just fine.

As to volume of chemisty, the 210ml is the minimum amount required to cover the film. You will probably want to use a little more just to be safe, unless you are sure your drum is perfectly level. In addition, you'll need to make sure you include enough chemistry to get the job done.