Thread: Newbie question about 'on axis' issue

Newbie question about 'on axis' issue

In the course of rereading Jack Dykinga's excellent book Large Format Nature Photography. I became confused by the term 'on axis' in his discussion of the use of the shift camera movement. For example,when discussing shift he states that "...it's best to leave the shift adjustments set neutral or zeroed. As long as the shift is zeroed, subsequent swing movements will be on axis." I am a landscape photographer who uses small amounts of shift quite often, frequently in combination with small amounts of tilts and on occasion with swings. Is this creating a problem I am not aware of? I then noticed that no less than Ansel Adams similarly seemed concerned about the 'on axis' issue when he wrote, in his book The Camera that "...I used the swing front to secure focus... In addition, I shifted the back to the left to keep the building on the lens axis, thereby avoiding the characteristic distortion of short focal length lenses..." Could someone explain the on axis issue and whether it is safe to use shift again? I Thank you all for this excellent forum! John Newbie

Re: Newbie question about 'on axis' issue

John.
    I am not sure that I understand your point since there is a question a bout the lens optical axis and the rotation axis for tilts and swings. So this is what I am tempted to say, pardon me if what i suggest is not exactly your problem.
    I see two points.
    The first point is what happens when various tilt, swing and shift movements are combined.
    If you use a lateral shift, and then apply a swing on the same standard, you move the lens or the film back in such a way that you'll loose focus quickly.