Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Macro lens recommendations, experience

Macro lens recommendations, experience

Greetings,

I'm new to LF, have really loved macro photography in MF, and would appreciate a ny recommendations, experience regarding macro lenses.

Thanks.

I use a 135 mm Repro Claron on my 2x3 Horseman and it works nicely. A used repro claron is reasonably priced and the lens is very compact. I understand the possiblilites are greater with a 4x5.

I have been very pleased with the 150mm F9 G-Claron. While not a true macro lens it is corrected for 1:1 or greater magnifications. I rarely go past 1:1 and use it often in the 1:5 to 1:10 range. the advantage for me was that I had a lens that would also provide excellent performance at infinity. It is also a very compact light weight lens. Compare this lens to a 120mm Makro-Symmar and you'll see what I mean. The 150mm F9 G-Claron can be found used in mint condition for $300-350.

I use a Fujinon 180A and love it. But DOF is a killer for LF macro work for me, and usually the macro subject doesn't have the fine detail that LF is good for, so I find myself doing most of my macro work with fine-grained 35mm emulsion.

Large format lenses that are labelled "macro" such as the Schneider and Rodenstock macro lenses are somewhat different from 35 mm and medium format macros. With 35 mm lenses such as the Nikon 105 F2.8 macro, and with some medium format macros such as the new Pentax 67 macro lens, a lens can give unassisted 1:1 magnification) and still be used as a good general purpose lens. The large format macro lenses are optimized for a very narrow range, usually something like 4:1 - 1:4, and aren't any good at all outside that range (not to mention the fact that they are very expensive).
    Brian Ellis
    Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way when you do criticize them you'll be
    a mile away and you'll have their shoes.