Thread: Screen DTS 1030 drum scanner: opinions needed...

Screen DTS 1030 drum scanner: opinions needed...

Ciao everybody
    I've been offered (for a very good price, I think: 500$) a SCREEN DTS 1030 drum scanner in good working conditions and with a Macintosh Quadra 800.
    I've done some researches but found little informations about this scanner...does anyone have experience with this model? Pros and cons? Advices? Difficulties to find parts on the used market?...I'm interested in the performances too, expecially compared to the Howtek D4000/D4500 series (I scan only 8x10" slides)...

Thank you!!!!

Ciao
    Marco
    Last edited by Marco; 20-Jun-2006 at 05:35.

Re: Screen DTS 1030 drum scanner: opinions needed...

Marco, a good price indeed if the machine is complete and includes the necessary software. It should perform on a par with the Howteks mentioned but I have no direct experience.

You should call Screen in Chicago and talk with with their tech support person ... Kristian if my memory is right and I don't have the info infront of me as I a out of town. She is very helpful.

Marco,

I'm a drum scanner operator. My scanner is an Optronics ColorGetter 3 Pro. It's closer to the Screen 1045.

From what I've read, the 1030 should work well for you. It should do a bang up job on chromes. I'm relatively sure that the drum is big enough to handle 10x8 film also.

The Mac Quadra is plenty of machine to handle to scanner. Just about anything will outrun a drum scanner. I suggest that you dedicate that computer to the scanner and transfer the files over a network to a different computer for image editing.

Do make sure you get everything - including a mounting station (makes it much easier to mount the film on the drum), a light table to put the mounting station on (makes it much easier to see what you are doing), and the calibration targets and software (if any). And of course all the cables!