Thread: New to LF Photography

New to LF Photography

I am new to LF photography, but want (and need!) to do it because I plan to get into alternative processes.

One question I have is, what is a good 4x5 camera to start with? (One that I won't outgrow too soon and one that's well-made, etc)

Can someone also explain some of the basics of LF photography to me, like what is monorail? what is geared "something" on the camera?

Thanks!

Ron Whitaker

New to LF Photography

Does CALUMET have an all number phone number, that can be called from outside th e US? I'm in the UK and only have an old steam powered phone with numbers on it ! Furthermore, in my experience free phone numbers are not accessible from outs ide the US.

New to LF Photography

Ron, Forgive me, I know you probably don't want to hear this, it will likely onl y complicate your decision further. But you did express a primary interest in " alternative processes" and concerns about "outgrowing" your potential LF camera choice. I'm only pointing this out because of my own experiences in "alternativ e processes", particularly platinum and palladium printing.

If you are primarily interested in "alternative processes", you might want to co nsider a format larger than 4x5, perhaps 8x10. Most, if not all, of the "altern ative processes" require contact printing of the actual negative. If you want p rints larger than 4x5, you cannot simply project a 4x5 negative in an enlarger t o create larger prints, as you would with regular B&W or color printing processe s.