Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pyrocat-HD, Semi Stand Dev, JandC 100 Pro - need help please...

Cooke, Heliar, Petzval...yeah

Smile Pyrocat-HD, Semi Stand Dev, JandC 100 Pro - need help please...

Hi,

I recently built my darkroom, and built my tubes for semi stand development.
    Last nigt I developed two films JandC 100 Pro, shot in low light scenery.

Exposure: 8x10 inch, 45 min. at F22, Fujinon-W 360 (Light meter indicated Zone III at 4 minutes)

Pre wash: 5 min.
    Developed in Pyrocat-HD 10:6:1220 dilution
    Agitation 1:15 min constant agitation
    11 min stand vertical
    15 sec slow agitation by rolling tube horizontally
    11:45 stand vertical
    15 sec slow agitation by rolling tube horizontally
    11:45 stand vertical
    After: Inspected after under green light for 5 sec

Stop: Half strength acid bath 30 sec

Fix: TF-4 for 4 minutes
    Wash 30 min
    FLN wash: 1 min

I am new in developing so I am looking for some unknows they surprised me and I expected different outcome. After pre-wash, my water was blue, like really blue, scary blue. Is it normal?
    Also, I've got brownish-greyish stain on my negatives, uneven, which was stronger on the edges of the negative, and lighter in the middle of it. I would mention that my Pyrocat-HD stock solutions were mixed last week, stored in brown glass bottles. The A solution had yesterday very slight pinkish color, but the B stock had moderate, I'd say 81A filter color. Is this stain good? Is it desirable stain?
    I do have densitometer and I did not measured it yet, but I will, I am in the processs to buy scanner so I will post picture later.

Furthermore, I am waiting for amidol from Greg so i can't print it on the azo yet. I look forward to hear any suggestions or comments.
    Peter Hruby
    www.peterhruby.ca

Re: Pyrocat-HD, Semi Stand Dev, JandC 100 Pro - need help please...

A couple of thoughts based on my experience: