Thread: Finally registered

Finally registered

I never expected to be doing LF Photography or doing more photography at all. I couldn't find atelier space for painting so turned to doing some photographs with a DSLR. Somehow I needed something analog so I bid on a Rolleiflex 2.8 A on eBay. The Rollei arrived but in need of a major CLA. Out of frustration I bid and won a Sinar F2 4x5 which was just a couple of hundred francs more than what I paid for the Rollei. I worked as an account manager in an advertising agency which was affiliated with Grey worldwide but by then all the photographers we were hiring were doing MF or digital so I did not have a concept of what a view camera is. All I know is that the Sinar was a bargain and it sounded totally analog to me. And so the journey began. Google turned up LF.info and I am and will always be indebted to the community.

Aside from the Rolleiflex 2,8A fiasco, I was quite lucky on my other purchases both from eBay (although I have limited to buying items from Switzerland) and various for-sale ads posted on the websites of local photo shops.

It has been a rush the past 6 months to complete my equipment: lenses -- 240mm Komuranon, 150mm Nikkor-W, 90mm Geronar-WA MC (the last two came with a Sinar F1, or rather the F1 was sold with both lenses and other accesories thrown in at a price one would normally pay for the used Nikkor), film holders (got a mixed lot of 26 film holders including Toyo, Fidelity and Lisco all for under 200 francs), and best of all after scouring local postings, I was able to aquire a Durst 1000 with a color head and condensor head, 150 EL-Nikkor, Negative carriers, easel, grain magnifier, and a mixed lot of around 1000 sheets of Ilford paper all for under 500 francs from an institution that has gone all digital.