Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: suitability of a Bogen 3021 tripod for 4x5 field

suitability of a Bogen 3021 tripod for 4x5 field

Any thoughts on the suitability of a Bogen 3021 tripod for 4x5 field work? I am just starting out in large format and currently have a Busch Pressman, but I am thinking of upgrading to a Tachihara or a Wista field camera. I will backpack on occassion with my equipment. Also, any thoughts on a head for this tripod, i f it is in fact appropriate? What about a 3028?

I use a 3021 for 4x5. It works well for me, and is about the heaviest I want to carry around on a hike. I prefer 3 way heads, as I can adjust and set each axis independently.

Do you already own the 3021? Bogen says that the 3021 will take a load of 13.25 lbs, and the 3028 head, 11lbs. I would think that would be OK for most 4x5 cameras - of course, sturdier is always better.

I'm fairly new to LF myself, and I get the impression that a lot of people insist that you use a $300 ball head and some outrageous tripod. I guess a lot depends on what you're willing to spend. If you're hauling the equipment a lot, you can spend a lot of money on a carbon fiber tripod and save some weight. From my purchasing research, I don't think that you're going to get more tripod for the money that with the Bogen-Manfrottos.

I personally use a 3046 legset with a 3047 tilt-pan head with my Toyo 45A. I don't know what all the fuss is about with using anything other than a ball head. I can't imagine that I can set up the ball head much more quickly. I also can't imagine that my photos would be any sharper by getting a more expensive tripod. I love this tripod and head combination. I chose the 3046 because I can get the camera almost to eye level without extending the center column. It was also relatively light (8.25lbs) for its load capacity (26.5 lbs.)