Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Color paper processing question

Color paper processing question

I'm about to take the plunge into processing my own color prints. I've been doing B&W for about a year, and I'm itching to make use of my extensive color backlog. First, assume that I would rather not scan and digitally print my work, even though I have about 30 years experience with computers. I have wasted a tremendous amount of K3 Ultrachrome without once getting a print out of my printer that looks like it does on the screen, even using manufacturers' paper profiles and Monaco EZ Color. Second, I'm considering a Jobo processor because of the temperature controls and because I can't seem to not scratch my LF negatives in either tray or tank processing.

Here's the question: Am I completely nuts?

Take the following into consideration when responding:

Can one successfully tray process color prints without absolute control of temperature?

Will I eventually be able to not scratch my LF negs? Or, do I just have to become a good retoucher?

Is it worth the effort?

All responses will be greatly appreciated.

Gary

Dear Gary,

Try it, you might enjoy yourself. It costs very little to try, especially if you have a dichroic head (on your enlarger that is). ;>)

Not nuts. Colour printing of good negatives is relatively easy. Some body makes room temperture RA-4 chemicals. Never used the stuff. It's more expensive and other then it's being room temperture it has no advantage.

When I started I used a drum rolled in a water bath. Literally a picnic cooler full of warm water with a fish tank heater in the bottom. Rolled by hand. Other then it's sloppy and you have to stand there spinning the drum it works just fine. I moved up to a Unicolor motorbase. The combination of not wanting to stand there and me figuring out the Jobo drums can easily hold temperture for the time needed.

1) Pre-wash with tempered water. Warms the drum and paper.

2) Dev

3) Stop

4) Blix

5) Wash.