Thread: Black-and-white images via HP DesignJet 130

Mike Lewis

Black-and-white images via HP DesignJet 130

I am new to black-and-white photography and I don't know how to get a good print with my current setup, which is: Fuji Neopan Arcos 100 -> 4x5 camera -> Vuescan / Epson 4990 scanner -> Photoshop on Mac OS X 10.4 -> HP DesignJet 130. I'm satisfied with the DesignJet for color printing, but I need assistance in using it and Photoshop to achieve a pleasing image with black-and-white negative film. I've downloaded the B&W printer drivers from HP and they help, but I need more help. Any suggestions?

thanks,

Mike Lewis
    Mike Lewis
    mikelewisimages.com

You could contact Neil Snape for icc profiles tuned for B&W:
    http://www.neilsnape.com/color/hpdj30130_icc_printing/index.html
    or use ImagePrint with their gray profiles for the 130.

Put paper in printer. Immerse printer in tub of Dektol 1:1 for two minutes with agitation. Sorry, I broke my brain and I can't get up.

John - just add twelve ounces of a nice Ethiopian dark roast to the mix and all will be well!

First, what paper are you using? I have good luck with the HP Satin. I use the profiles from:

https://hoon.banta-im.com/HP2000/qa/country/us/en/iccprofile_bw/index.html?pageseq=574825

I use the neutral one, seems to work for me. I run the BEST setting in the printer driver, and I calibrate the printer for Satin and Best. This works great on bigger prints - if I were doing 8x10, I might use max detail. Are you having specific problems?

Mike Lewis

Ed,
    I am using the same paper and printer driver as you. I don't have a specific problem with the print that I can describe; it just doesn't look quite "right". Also, I haven't printed large yet, just trial 8x10s. Perhaps I could improve the image elsewhere in the processing chain. Are there Photoshop techniques specific for black-and-white images?
    Mike Lewis
    mikelewisimages.com

Mike,