Thread: NPS negs came out red!

NPS negs came out red!

I'm new to this so bear with me please. I bought a Tech III in good condition w/ Schneider 150mm. First batch of sheet film was NPS. Exposures ran from 1/20 to 1/200 at f 16 - f 32. All shot outdoors in good sunlight. I metered w/ my Nikon 6006. All exposures came out very red. L ab assumed I had used a red filter but I hadn't. Film was brand new from B & H. I had kept the film in the freezer for a week before using it. Does NPS turn red if exposures are too long? What is effect of reciprocity on NPS? Anyone have an y ideas?

NPS negs came out red!

NPS is a color neg film, if I am thinking correctly. If so, a red filter would turn the negs the opposite color. I may be wrong, but I have a feeling the lab screwed up. Why not try a couple of other shots under the same conditions and send to another lab or perhaps the same one and let them try again. Was it a pro lab? Was the color the same at the edges where the holder marks are? Have you removed the lens and made sure there isn't a filter on the back of the lens? Sounds like chemistry problem to me. Doug

NPS negs came out red!

If your shutter speeds were from 1/20 sec to 1/200 sec., then reciprocity should not be a problem.

NPS negs came out red!

I would think as Doug that your lab had a problem. On the border of the films ar e preexposed codes. They can serve as test to check if the film was correctly processed. But you would ha ve to compare with a correctly processed sheet, or send them to Fuji Film for inspection.

NPS negs came out red!

Are the images negatives? I once had a lab run some neg film through an E6 line, and I got red/orange transparencies back.

NPS negs came out red!

Is it possible that the film was in the holders back to front? If so, the negs should also be about two stops underexposed.

NPS negs came out red!