Thread: foma, arista, and other cheaper sheet films

foma, arista, and other cheaper sheet films

I know this is a highly individual preference question, but I am asking the serious photographers out there who know the beauty of an ansel adams' print, a sugimoto print and the other sensitive and subtle black and white prints made throughout history. I am an artist working in 4x5 materials and I would like to explore cheaper options to tri-x. I have heard of foma, arista, and forte films from looking at Freelance's site. Of course, there is always the option of buying all three and running several tests, etc., but frankly I don't know that I have the time or money to do that and I would love to hear other people's thoughts. I am generally looking for a 100 or 200 speed film (I shoot tri-x at 200 and process it normal to get my best results.)

Many thanks for your thoughts,
    Serge

I think you're likely to get opinions all over the map regarding the products of the "second-tier" manufacturers, Serge. You may also find various complaints about the consistency of their batch-to-batch quality control. Even though "first-tier" film manufacturers (Kodak, Ilford, Fuji) will goof from time to time, or have product damaged in shipment, I personally prefer the comfort of working with their products. It's just one less thing to worry about after spending the time and money to "get there".

Dave Karp

No comment on quality here since I use HP5+ and FP4+ now that Ilford does not supply Arista Professional films to Freestyle anymore. But, I can tell you that Arista.Edu films are manufactured by Forte. Arista.Edu Ultra sheet films are made by Foma. So that does reduce your choices, because the manufacturer brands and the Freestyle store brands (Arista) are the same.