Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Experiences moving from small to large format?

Experiences moving from small to large format?

Hello,

I have always shot in 35mm and medium format, hand-held, in natural light. For medium format, I use an old Rollei TLR and a Mamiya 7 rangefinder, allowing me to work much the same as in 35mm. Since I am just getting started in large format, I am wondering if anyone else can share their experiences moving from smaller to large formats. Or did you all start off in large format? Clearly, large format is a slower, comtemplative way of working. My biggest hurdle so far is working with a tripod, which makes me feel tied down. Any suggestions? Did any of you go through similar experiences or learning curve? How long before you got comfortable with the new format, and how do you think it changed your work or way of seeing. Thanks.

Working in LF makes you realize things about the way you were working in 35mm. Most people, myself included, tend to adjust our framing and points of view in 35mm by putting the camera to our eye and moving our feet. You don't realize that you do it, and in particular, how easy it is to work this way, until you can't do it anymore.

Interestingly, I find that having this taken away from me makes me a better photographer. It forces me to think before I shoot, literally. I have to walk the scene to find the point of view that will let me make the photograph I want, then setup there - not the other way around.

But don't let this make you feel tied down. Instead, let this make you feel liberated. You are free of that camera on your face making you adjust to *its* needs. Now you are free to think about the photograph you want to make, and positioning the camera to meet *your* needs. This is an entirely different and much better way of working. At least for me it is.

Bruce Watson