Thread: Linhof Kardan Color

Linhof Kardan Color

Hi,

I am a beginner at large format photography
    I just bought a new camera, the possesion booklet says that it is a Linhof Kardan Color, but on the camera there is no specified name or model except a Linhof sign.
    Could you please help me if i give the serial number written on the booklet because i could not find the serial number neither on the camera

Thanks

Linhof Kardan Color

the serial number is 2622188

Linhof Kardan Color

A search on Google yeilded pictures of a Kardan Color. That camera is pretty distinct looking, so I would go with the visuals as to whether it is or not.
    I used one way back in college, and it was a pretty decent beginning camera, although not well suited for wide angle lenses.

www.craigwphoto.com

Linhof Kardan Color

Thank you for your answer, but it is not the same camera, i think it may be one of the first kardan colors manufactured by Linhof. I am waiting esteemed Bob Salomon to answer. Thanks again.

Linhof Kardan Color

While you wait for specifics from Bob, here is his brief quote on the Kardan Color from an earlier thread:

"The 45 Kardan Color was a totally different camera that was essentially a Technika IV front and rear standard on a rail with a fixed bellows and Technika 45 lens boards." You will also find a review of the camera in the main part of this site if I recall correctly.

This should be a solid camera for you to start with. I have used one both in the field and in the studio (but not for a good 30 years) and found it easy to work with but I did not use it with any wide angle lenses. As Bob will tell you parts are very difficult to find since it has been uot of production so long. Only thing you really need to check closely is to see that the bellows are light tight.

Welcome to large format and good light.

All metric sizes to 24x30 Ole Tjugen's Avatar

Linhof Kardan Color

Ted, that description would fit the Linhof Color even better!