Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Historical Photographers

Historical Photographers

Hi, I have been suprised that there have been no answers to my question about Ca milis S. Fly. Does no one here have any interest in past photographers? I am an outdoor photographer, and concentrate on the Desert and "old west". I have a gre at sense of following the historical artists and photographers, particularly tho se of the early western period. This was one of the reasons I have gone into Lar ge Format. I can not help being amazed and thrilled at the difficulty these brav e, adventureus photographers went through. I am often suprised by this forum, wh en I read how many large format photographers use quickloads and dislike the tro uble of loading film. We need to remember that in the 1800's, photographers had to flow wet emultion onto 8x10 or even 24x18 inch plates, shoot and develop the plates w hile they were still wet, and all this while in the field!

I hope some of you can see your place in the history of photography, and the tra dition that we are part of. Again I would like to ask if any one has heard of Ca milus S. Fly, or other historical photographers that are interesting and have contributed to the historical past. Thanks,

Bill

Historical Photographers

I thought about that about a year ago when I was going through the latest National Geographic. An artical about a NG photographer (sorry, dont have the name offhand) who was on assignment in asia around the turn of the century. Apparently NG was going through thier archives and came upon a bunch of 5x7 glass plates from his work. The article told about the conditions he had to go through to take the photos, from dealing with broken glass plates, weather, etc. We do have it quite easy, dont we? I still load my filmholders, at least.

Historical Photographers