Thread: Super Graphic Rigidity and Focusing Screen?

Super Graphic Rigidity and Focusing Screen?

Hi,
    I am new to the LF and just got myself a Super Graphic with the 135mm/4.5 Optar. After playing around with it for a while, I have a few questions for which I hope may get suggestions from the always helpful LF community.

1. The "chrome lip" to control the front swing/slide (see http://www.cameraquest.com/supergrp.htm) on my Super Graphic appears not very tight. I feel I can still swing the lens standard to left or right even without pressing that thing. Is this normal? Did I force the lens standard too much?

2. In addition, the lens standard can be moved along the rails slowly if I use some force. Is this normal for the Super Graphic? Or is that also caused by the potential problem of that "LIP" as I indicated in question 1?

3. As a modern SLR user, I have been spoiled by the bright image usually showing up in viewfinders. Thus I am amazed at the dim image (hard to see, except my own reflection onto the glass) the focusing screen can provide. Seems that the focusing hood doesn't help a lot. Do I need a focusing cloth? Or changing the ground glass/installing the fresenl lens may be more helpful?

Since I am totally new, maybe my questions are not very good ones. However, I am still waiting for you guys to give me some instructions and I really appreciate your kind help!

Best regards, Yu.

I don't know if this is your problem but you might want to consider if your.....

-shutter is open
    -lens aperture is at maximum, if the aperture is at minimum, then previewing the scene can be very dim indeed.
    -viewfinder images are slightly dimmer than that of SLRs, but not that much dimmer, and of course everything should be appearing upside down.

Cheers

1 & 2) My Super is the same way. When everything is supposed to be locked down, it can still be forced (unlike my Crown). I'd say, don't worry about it, just stop forcing it.