Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: WWW site tips and examples?

WWW site tips and examples?

I want to start a WWW site for images. I may want to sell images in the longer term, but at the moment I just want to get some of them online and start building visibility. I have some experience with building and runing a large text site (http://biotech.law.lsu.edu/) but not a clue about the nuances of a photo site. I use Dreamweaver for my text site.

Are there useful guides? Affordable or free software tools? I work digitally from 4x5 black and white negatives, but have no idea of the right image size and scaling for good WWW work.

there are many free photo gallery packages out there. All have their pros and cons but the one thing I have not seen in any of them is a good interface for selling images.

selling online is complex depending on the options you want. e.g. framing or no framing. size options, shipping options, payment options, local taxes, currency conversion etc.

Mostpeople just end up saying please email for details.

Good free photo gallery packages are:

exhbit engine ( can be tricksy to install but worth it) see the EE forum for help on installation

photography-on-the.net/ee/beta/

Jalbum
    jalbum.net/

Coppermine
    coppermine-gallery.net/index.php

follow this link for a big list of free gallery software:
    the first GALLERY is very popular.

sourceforge.net/search/?type_of_search=soft&words=gallery

also see in the list SPGM which is simple as it says but if you know some php scripting then it can be configured how you like.

Nearly all the packages require your server to have PHP installed and many require MySQL database as well. Some require ImageMagick (Gallery does).

Alternatively, you could buy some software:

www.imagefolio.com/

the above has both gallery and storefront options.

Write it yourself tips: