Thread: Enlightening Trip

Enlightening Trip

Hi, First of all I'm not sending this message to flame any digital vs. analog debate, however I want to express or share my thoughts on this. Even though nowadays any time anyone seems to bring up the issue of digital to analog comparison it often times meets with quite a bit of jeering. First of all I'm not a professional photographer, I'm what you would call a super passionate amateur photographer.
    Last year I took a road trip to British Columbia, Alberta, and into Alaska. Of course to see this wonderful country (first time) and also to hopefully capture some memorable images.
    Took my trusted Volvo and put 11,000 miles on in 30 days.
    I primarily brought a Canon D20 digital camera with an assortment of L series lenses. Even though I hadn't been using my LF and MF gear for several years since I started to use the DSLRs I brought along a Hasselblad 500 CM with 40mm and a 150mm lens with me.
    I captured 500 or so digital images in my trip plus shot around 4 rolls of Velvia as well.
    It was a great experience, traveling, camping out, enjoying the outdoors, AND seeing some of the most beautiful country in the world. Upon coming home I of course started to look through the digial images and minor tweaking them in Photoshop and printing about 20 or so images I thought were good and certainly memorable to me. As an aside even though using light digital gear I almost always use a tripod, usually incident light meter, etc. Basically careful in my technique. Of These 20 or so images, I printed mostly 11x14s. I thought they were pretty good in overall image quality. The Canon 20D (8mp) does a pretty nice job. One of the better intermediate DSLRs out there in my opinion.