Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scanning 4 x 5 color negative

Scanning 4 x 5 color negative

A decade ago I was encouraged by Richard Misrach to change from color transparency to color negative, for the extended range which negative format offers. I have never looked back on following up the suggestion.

Starting 4 years ago or so, I started having problems purchasing color chemistry in small kits, a problem which I attribute to the overall move to digital by the vast majority of photo "enthusiasts". I am an amateur photographer shooting only for my personal satisfaction, and while I continue to embrace view camera technique and the shooting experience, I have found my wet 4 x 5 color printing darkroom increasingly idle.

As I am getting deeper into digital processing of the printing end of my endeavors, I am finding a dearth of information regarding work flow from color negatives. (Most digital threads seem to relate to black and white or color transparency - even manufacturers of equipment and hardware seem to gear primarily to these choices, like not offering IT8 targets in negative form for example.)

I do not have a large budget for major changes, after having just upgraded my computer this year and my camera a couple of years ago. I scan with an epson 4870, print to my several year old epson photo 2000p. My current computer has 2 g of ram and 256 mb of video ram - so I think it is fairly decent.

I just ordered an upgrade to SilverFast AI from SE

How do other photographers handle work flow from color negatives? I would like to know if there are better directions for my current situation.

Thanks

Wilbur