Thread: Filter Factors

Filter Factors

As a 35mm SLR Photographer, I never have had any trouble with filter factors, as the light was always read through the lens. Of course I realize I can hold the filters up in front of my Spot meter and take a reading through them, but would like to know the filter factors for the filters I use, and how to apply this inf ormation to my exposior. I only use three filters as I am an outdoor Photographe r and do not like to use many. The filters concerend are an 81C, A Cokin Medium graduated nuetral density, and a polerizer. If someone could advise me as to fac tors and exposior info for these, I would appreciate it. Also I would like to kn ow if you find these calculations are more helpful them simply holding the filte r befor the Spot Meter???

Thanks, Bill

Filter Factors

Why not make your own list? You'll need an evenly toned wall or large surface that is evenly lit by daylight. Make a reading without a filter and then with the filters in question and take notes.

Filter Factors

be careful trying to obtain correct filter factors with some meters - older spot meters can give you incorrect readings, as has been discussed on this forum in the past. much better to do some film exposure testing to determine the actual correction. the manufacturers recommended filter factors are usually the best place to start. go to your local photo store, and look at the boxes of filters like yours - the filter factors are marked on the boxes. or try the manufacturers websites - sometimes you can get that kind of info there. or you can call a good vendor, like calumet (1-888-888- 9083) and ask those guys about your specific filters.

Filter Factors

With Cokin GND you have to add 1.5 stops for #120 and 2.5 stops for #121. Most polarizers require an additional exposure of 2 stops. Tom

Filter Factors