Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: tripod

tripod

Hi. Well, I went and done it: just bought a hideously enormous Calumet C1 8x10. Guess my wimpy
    manfrotto 3042 and 3011 legs won't be sturdy enough. Anybody familiar with the Berlebach (Germany) ash wood Tripods?
    I found one locally at a good price. There web site idicates the particular model (3042) has a "maximum stress" of 10 kg/22 lbs. The camera weighs (per seller) 17 lbs. I am planning on ordering a 300 f5.6 Fujinon, weighing in at 2.5 lbs, or so I have been told. The camera with lens will weigh approx 19.5 lbs.....I guess with a film holder, I'll be right at 22 lbs. Am I pushing it? Are tripods generally rated conservatively? I am completely new to this, and don't want to risk my camera falling over!

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks.

tripod

I don't know about the particular Berlebach tripod you're looking at, but I would say that tripods are not rated conservatively in general. Some of them seem to be rated for how much weight they can hold without collapsing, rather than how much weight they can hold steady, accounting for the leverage of a long camera rail with an 8x10" back at one end and perhaps a bellows vibrating in the wind.

Also pay attention to the head, which is often more of a weak point than the legs.

The good news--for an 8x10" camera of around 20 lbs., you might think about a Majestic head. These are often fairly cheap used, and they are very solid. I can point my 8x10" Sinar P straight down on my Majestic head for copy work, and it doesn't budge. If you find a Majestic head with a post mount and you end up with a legset that has a 3/8" stud, you can buy an adapter inexpensively.

Stuck inside of Tucson with the Neverland Blues again...

tripod