Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Greetings from Norway

Greetings from Norway

The whole country went digital like a pack of lemmings a decade ago, I'm probably one of a handful of people who still shoot film around here.

Been shooting MF for about 20 years, first with a Bronica SQ system (after testing it and a Hassy during a weekend on identical shots with the same film, developed at the same lab), which I later sold and went to Rolleiflex (both a System 6000 setup and a TLR).

I've been curious about LF for some time, but never gotten to the point of actually trying it. Rod Klunkas was kind enough to drop by Los Angeles (my part-time home) recently and spend a day with me shooting an Arca Swiss f-line 4x5 camera. Talk about G.A.S..., what an amazing camera!

So now I'm researching, trying to figure out firstly what I want to do with my photography (I'm an amateur, it's a hobby, but I hope to do something more with it), and secondly if LF fits with my vision (once I find it, lol), and if an Arca or perhaps some other camera would fit best with what I'd like to do.

Looking forward to learning what I can from all the experience gathered here.

Thor

Re: Greetings from Norway

Welcome! An Arca F-line is an incredibly versatile camera. The combination of flexibility, light weight, compact size, ease of use, and rigidity is unmatched, in my experience. Other options might surpass the Arca in a couple of areas, but not, in my experience, in all of them. I borrowed one for a couple of months. If cost were no object, I'd use one.
    Last edited by Peter De Smidt; 7-Sep-2018 at 17:24.
    “You often feel tired, not because you've done too much, but because you've done too little of what sparks a light in you.”
    ― Alexander Den Heijer, Nothing You Don't Already Know