Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: V600 cannot scan 4x5 negatives?

  1. #21

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    2,222

    Re: V600 cannot scan 4x5 negatives?

    Quote Originally Posted by macandal View Post
    Which model?

    Thanks.

    Basicly you have to decide is you want a Plustek 120 that makes also MF but costs $2700 or you have enough if it scans 35mm.

    I'd recommend the cheapest, the $300 Plustek 8100, it has Multi-Exposure that's (to me) the important thing for velvia, IIRC it lacks infrared channel for dust, I think that best is using a bare HEPA air purifier to not have dust, and if there is some dust then I prefer to see it in the scan, to be aware that I've dust and to correct that situation.

    The Plustek 120 it's too expensive for me, I'm happy with V800/850 MF scans, and the 120 (to cover MF) has a lower ultimate performance than 8100 for 35mm.

    Here you have the details:

    https://www.filmscanner.info/en/Plus...cFilm8100.html
    https://www.filmscanner.info/en/Plus...Film8200i.html
    https://www.filmscanner.info/en/Plus...icFilm120.html
    https://www.filmscanner.info/en/Plus...icFilm135.html

    https://plustek.com/usa/products/fil...hoto-scanners/

  2. #22

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,373

    Re: V600 cannot scan 4x5 negatives?

    Quote Originally Posted by jim10219 View Post
    I sold off the film holder I had bought for this scanner because I found out I got much shaper scans by scanning directly on the glass.
    That's odd. I have a 4990 as well and years ago, I did some testing and found that I got marginally better resolution if I used the film holders and shimmed the holders so that they were roughly 1mm higher than usual. With negatives placed directly onto the platen, resolution was noticeably degraded. My results were in line with what was widely reported and also the reason why the BetterScanning holders (which I don't have BTW) have an adjustable height setting that allows the film holder to be raised a little above where the stock holder sits. Perhaps something is slightly out of alignment in your scanner?

  3. #23

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    2,222

    Re: V600 cannot scan 4x5 negatives?

    Quote Originally Posted by koraks View Post
    height setting
    btw, here there is a mesuring of the impact of height in the ressolution.

    https://www.photrio.com/forum/thread...t-spot.151784/

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	V750 Horizontal Resolution.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	25.9 KB 
ID:	182077

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	V750 Vertical Resolution.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	30.1 KB 
ID:	182078

  4. #24

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,373

    Re: V600 cannot scan 4x5 negatives?

    That's for the 750 and I think we have established that the optical array is supposed to be different from the 4990. I believe I've seen similar charts with comparable results for the 4990 though, which always makes me wonder how big the difference in terms of optics really is between these scanners.

  5. #25

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    2,222

    Re: V600 cannot scan 4x5 negatives?

    Quote Originally Posted by koraks View Post
    which always makes me wonder how big the difference in terms of optics really is between these scanners.
    I'd say that the main glass difference is that the V7xx/8xx has two lenses, and that the 750/850 have coatings in the lenses. This allows the Vs perform better when width is under 5.9" when the "hires" lens is used.

  6. #26

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Del City, OK
    Posts
    174

    Re: V600 cannot scan 4x5 negatives?

    Quote Originally Posted by koraks View Post
    That's odd. I have a 4990 as well and years ago, I did some testing and found that I got marginally better resolution if I used the film holders and shimmed the holders so that they were roughly 1mm higher than usual. With negatives placed directly onto the platen, resolution was noticeably degraded. My results were in line with what was widely reported and also the reason why the BetterScanning holders (which I don't have BTW) have an adjustable height setting that allows the film holder to be raised a little above where the stock holder sits. Perhaps something is slightly out of alignment in your scanner?
    That is odd! I thought the 4990 was supposed to be focused on the glass, since unlike the V series, it doesn’t have a second lens specifically for film. But I could be mistaken. Anyway, they say that manufacturing tolerances vary, so it wouldn’t be unusual for two scanners to have different optimum heights. Still it sounds like our’s are way off from each other. In any case, mine scans well, so even if it is out of alignment, I’m not messing with it!

Similar Threads

  1. Epson V750 -- Not able to scan negatives?
    By mediopollito in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29-May-2016, 16:06
  2. Scan prints or negatives ?
    By andrew gardiner in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4-Feb-2013, 14:55
  3. cheapest way to scan negatives?
    By marshallarts in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 25-Jan-2010, 10:08
  4. where to scan my negatives in Netherlands?
    By bbarna in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3-Oct-2009, 23:00
  5. Why Scan LF B&W Negatives?
    By John_4185 in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 17-Oct-2005, 12:47

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •