Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Greater ease of use with tripod head?

Greater ease of use with tripod head?

I've been doing large format photography for about four years now. Before that I used a Horseman Technical 980 (6 x 9) with a Tilt-All Pro tripod I bought over 30 years ago, which I've found more than adequate for supporting my Toho FC-45X. The tripod weighs about 5 1/2 pounds, which is important to me because of herniated discs and spinal stenosis. I've done some comparisons, and it seems I can't do too much better in the weight department even with an expensive carbon fiber tripod and light head.

With increased used, I've become impatient with the effort required to level my camera just right. The tripod head tends to overcorrect when making small adjustments and I usually have to make several tries to get it where I want it. So I'm ready to consider spending quite a lot (for me) to get something which is light, at least no heavier than the Tilt-All, and which would improve the situation with respect precise control when levelling. Any advice would be appreciated.

Eric Biggerstaff

Loeonard,

You might consider a geared head. I use the Manfrotto/Bogen 405 (supports up 10 16.5 pounds) on my Gitzo CF and I really like it. Easy and fast to set up, easy to level, no big levers to snag on things, might be worth a look.
    Eric Biggerstaff

www.ericbiggerstaff.com

From personal experience, I would highly recommend the style of the small, highly accurate Linhof pan/tilt head, were it not that their manufacturing costs have obviously gotten out of hand:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=31373&is=REG&addedTroughType=categoryNavigation

Manfrotto, I believe, has something similar. But don't go for their large model - it is about the size and weight of a duckpin bowling ball.