Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Opinions on upgrading from 4x5 to 8x10

Opinions on upgrading from 4x5 to 8x10

Hi all,

I have been shooting LF for about a year - a Linhof Master Classic. It's a beautiful camera.
    I'm tempted to move up to 8x10. I think the lure of looking through such large ground glass has me under its spell!

What's your opinion on the upgrade, especially now as things become more and more expensive?
    Lens, film, processing, etc.

I would love to hear anyone's thoughts who made the jump and had the same sentiments as me.

Thank you!

Re: Opinions on upgrading from 4x5 to 8x10

If I had better health and tons of money, I'd upgrade to 8x10. That's as succinctly as I can state my opinion, as the matter pertains to me. As it pertains to you, I haven't a clue.

I started shooting 4x5 with a Graflex press camera in 1960, adding cameras in the years since.

I started shooting 8x10 with a field camera and a studio camera about 10 years ago.

The main difference I have seen is the very limited selection of lenses for 8x10. I have about 20 lenses for the 4x5 systems, but only 3 or 4 for 8x10. That severely limits my 8x10 shooting options in the field, less so in the studio. Good lenses for 8x10 are EXPENSIVE.

The film selection for 8x10 is also somewhat limited. I used to shoot Fuji ACROS in 4x5 (was never available here in 8x10). Of course, it's no longer available. But there are still more films in 4x5 than in 8x10.

If your goal is 8x10 prints, you can obviously contact-print an 8x10 negative with superb results, no enlarger needed. For larger prints, you'll find an 8x10 enlarger is huge.

- Leigh
    If you believe you can, or you believe you can't... you're right.

Maybe it depends on your eyesight.

My eyes recently degraded and fresh RX is not doing it

But last night I set up two 11X14, an 8x10 and 5x7.

The bigger the GG the better for me in this permanent condition.