Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: 240v Nocon timer in USA?

  1. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    11,133

    Re: 240v Nocon timer in USA?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Hudson View Post
    It seems that the connector is discontinued. Anybody know of a source for the plug? I'm attaching a better image from elsewhere.
    If you are in the USA you could contact Lashen Electronics in Denville, New Jersey.

    Oops, in Rockaway, NJ. They moved since we moved from Rockaway!

  2. #12

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Madisonville, LA
    Posts
    1,693

    Re: 240v Nocon timer in USA?

    Is there a reason you have to use this timer? Seems like you’re creating a whole lot of problems you may not even have thought of. Timers are not exactly hard to find.

  3. #13

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    339

    Re: 240v Nocon timer in USA?

    I guess I need to either use it or make it usable to somebody else (eg to sell). Both of these mean figuring it out.

  4. #14

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Highlands of Scotland
    Posts
    120

    Re: 240v Nocon timer in USA?

    I use the same connector for my safelight on the MG500 PSU. Search for IEC connectors, they're commonly used in Europe.

    You could use one of these: https://media.rs-online.com/t_large/F7769113-01.jpg and if you're careful, cut off the shroud.

    Mike

  5. #15

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Madisonville, LA
    Posts
    1,693

    Re: 240v Nocon timer in USA?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Hudson View Post
    I guess I need to either use it or make it usable to somebody else (eg to sell). Both of these mean figuring it out.
    Well you could pitch it and get something that works in this country. You’ll spend more trying to make it work than it’s worth

  6. #16

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Seattle area, WA
    Posts
    879

    Re: 240v Nocon timer in USA?

    You could get an actual 220 volt outlet installed in your house to use the timer. Or use something like this (takes two 120v plugs on different circuits and combines them into a 220 plug): http://www.quick220.com/220_catalog/...onverters.html

  7. #17

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    89

    Re: 240v Nocon timer in USA?

    YOu say you opened it up? Sometimes power supplies have a switch or jumpers you can configure for different voltages. Is this an option in your unit?

    Otherwise as said before... sell it to someone in a country that can use it and purchase something usable here in the USA.

  8. #18

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    339

    Re: 240v Nocon timer in USA?

    Thanks for all the suggestion - I "adapted" a plug connector as per the advice here: https://www.photrio.com/forum/thread...troler.141235/ by sawing off the shroud and it works fine.

Similar Threads

  1. GraLab 900 usage (on 240v!)
    By welly in forum Darkroom: Equipment
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-May-2013, 22:00
  2. Gene Nocon Dead at 66
    By Jim Noel in forum Announcements
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 3-Dec-2011, 07:28
  3. NOCON enlarging timer
    By james mickelson in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16-Nov-1998, 21:59

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •