Thread: Underexposed 4x5 negs

Underexposed 4x5 negs

I am a complete newbie in the large format but have done quite a bit of 35mm and medium format b/w work. I have started using an 8x10 view and 4x5 Graphex camera and am doing something wrong.

I don't have a separate exposure meter so have used my OM-4 with the normal 50mm lens to meter the subject, using the same film speed as in the large format camera. I then used the exposure indicated on the 4x5 camera. However, all negatives are coming out extremely underexposed and thin I have used a tank method to develop the negs, using the same techniques (agitation, etc) as with other formats. The details are:

Film - Kodak Professional TMax 100 w/ recommended dev time of 8.5 minutes (exp 3/06)

Camera - Graphex 'Crown Graphic' w/ 135mm lens

Developer - Clayton F76 1:9

Are there any obvious errors in my methods or equipment that stand out? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Underexposed 4x5 negs

Your metering technique may be the problem. Is your 50mm lens seeing the same thing s your 4x5 camera? The shutter on your view camera may not be accurate - have you checked it? Have you calibrated your film speed for the 4x film? Simpy relying on the mfg recommended film speed anddev time is not a good way to proceed. You need to do your own testing.

steve simons
    view camera magazine

Underexposed 4x5 negs

Hi Sheldon

Is there any possibility that you put the film in the holders backwards by accident. I did this a short while ago to a sheet of film when I was distracted when loading holders. I lost one shot but it gave me an idea for using barrel lenses. I made a properly exposed shot with the emulsion reversed and all I have to do is compare it with a microscope. Visually it looks ok. The exposure difference is about 5 stops. Can't think of another reason.

Underexposed 4x5 negs