Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Focal Point

Focal Point

I've been shooting for a few years now but recently started using a 4 x 5 Land Camera for landscapes. I was advised by a pro to focus at 1/4 the distance between my lense and the horizon. I was a bit shy to ask him to explain because I had presented myself as sort of a pro as well, which isn't true. Can anyone make sense of this?

Focal Point

Generally speaking, as you stop down the plane of acceptably sharp focus increases more beyond the point of your focus more than in front of it.

Just exactly how much is a matter for the optical engineers among us.

Focusing about halfway between near and far is usually enough for me. Or perhaps 1/3 into the scene from the front is slightly more accurate. 1/4 sounds a bit short.

It is possible to figure it out to the fraction of an inch. But by that time the clouds will often have moved. ;0)

Focal Point

Thanks John. That brings up another question. If I focus at infinity will that then cause the forground to go soft? Even at, say f90?

All metric sizes to 24x30 Ole Tjugen's Avatar

Focal Point

If you focus at infinity, the resolution of foreground details will be identical to the aperture opening - excepting tilts and swings, of course.

Sometimes it's better to have a sharp horizon and a slightly blurry foreground than having both equally soft.

For a more thorough discussion of this see Harold Merklinger's "The Ins and Outs of Focus".

Focal Point

As the aperature gets smaller, the diffusion get worse as the depth of field gets deeper. At some point (F 512?) these converge and you get a pinhole camera where everything is in focus and nothing is sharp.

Focal Point