Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: I need FIX Hardner: ALUM?

  1. #1
    Randy Moe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9,522

    I need FIX Hardner: ALUM?

    I can't find my Steve Anchell Cookbook or Beyond Monochrome. I will sooner or later.

    I want to add hardener to TF5. I Have Kodak QF with Kodak Hardner on the way. I don't want to wait.

    I bought powdered Alum today at the grocer. Photographers Formulary also sells it in powder form. My can is labeled 'ALUM Powdered' "This colorless, odorless, crystalline powder is useful for dying fabrics". It was in the food spice section.

    How much by weight to 1000 ml TF5 standard working solution of 1+3=4, should I try?

    Has anyone used spice rack Alum as hardner?

    I will use it on EFKE film and glass plates, both new and old.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,350

    Re: I need FIX Hardner: ALUM?

    Iirc, the potassium alum in the spice rack is much less effective as a hardener than the chrome alum I usually come across in ingredients lists. I have no experience with potassium alum, but it's something to keep in mind when mixing stuff; you'll likely need much more of the potassium salt than of the chrome salt if that's what's indicated in your formula.

    Out of sheer curiosity: what do you need a hardener for? I've never come across a situation myself where I needed one with regular materials; only for gelatin sizing papers for alt processes.

  3. #3
    Randy Moe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9,522

    Re: I need FIX Hardner: ALUM?

    Quote Originally Posted by koraks View Post
    Iirc, the potassium alum in the spice rack is much less effective as a hardener than the chrome alum I usually come across in ingredients lists. I have no experience with potassium alum, but it's something to keep in mind when mixing stuff; you'll likely need much more of the potassium salt than of the chrome salt if that's what's indicated in your formula.

    Out of sheer curiosity: what do you need a hardener for? I've never come across a situation myself where I needed one with regular materials; only for gelatin sizing papers for alt processes.
    EFKE film and glass plate dry emulsions.

  4. #4
    Do or do not. There is no try.
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    772

    Re: I need FIX Hardner: ALUM?

    Randy, I suggest you ask this question over on Photrio, formerly APUG. Ron Mowrey, the developer of TF-5, is active there (but not here) and would certainly be the best person to provide an answer.

  5. #5
    Randy Moe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9,522

    Re: I need FIX Hardner: ALUM?

    Perhaps.

    I just read too much last night. Dentists have pages of data on X-Ray fixing and hardening.

    Sprint says they have a system. Of course! http://sprintsystems.com/products/re...ing-converter/

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    2,132

    Re: I need FIX Hardner: ALUM?

    Quote Originally Posted by Randy Moe View Post
    I can't find my Steve Anchell Cookbook
    http://www.ssnpstudents.com/wp/wp-co...m-Cookbook.pdf

  7. #7
    Randy Moe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9,522

    Re: I need FIX Hardner: ALUM?

    Thanks! Since I have purchased 2 versions I feel free to use a download.

    Now I am waiting for water...seems a main broke.

    Good thing I consider this a hobby.

    Thanks again Pere!

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Brookfield, Vic., Aust.
    Posts
    435

    Re: I need FIX Hardner: ALUM?

    I've only ever used chrome alum as a hardener (and then not that often), but I believe formalin has also been used in the past. It may be less susceptible to pH than alums, and it's also worth keeping in mind that it's carcinogenic.

  9. #9
    multi format
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    local
    Posts
    3,807

    Re: I need FIX Hardner: ALUM?

    i have heard you can put the alum hardener in any stage. you can put it in your dev. or have a separate bath, or put in in your fix.
    i use sprint chemistry and they make it ez ...

  10. #10
    Randy Moe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9,522

    Re: I need FIX Hardner: ALUM?

    Seems to me adding to developer makes good sense.

    Now I need to find out how much.

    I read somewhere too much and the risk is lack of flexibility which is not an issue with glass plate.

    Quote Originally Posted by jnanian View Post
    i have heard you can put the alum hardener in any stage. you can put it in your dev. or have a separate bath, or put in in your fix.
    i use sprint chemistry and they make it ez ...

Similar Threads

  1. Hardner Formula(s) For TF-5
    By tgtaylor in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 21-Feb-2014, 16:45
  2. Using a hardner for Gum Bichromate
    By Pete Watkins in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3-Jan-2014, 03:28
  3. Hypo Alum Toner
    By Jan_6568 in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6-Jun-2006, 10:13
  4. Fixer, hardner or not?
    By brian steinberger in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17-Sep-2005, 17:54

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •