Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Switching back to condensor head, 45MCRX, from cold light

Switching back to condensor head, 45MCRX, from cold light

Ive been using my Beseler 45MCRX enlarger for over 30 years with a cold light. Seeing so many people using LED bulbs these days I was thinking of putting my condenser head back on with an LED bulb.

The light chamber of the regular head has a semi gloss cone inside where the bulb is. My question is this....

Should I paint the cone ultra flat black to reduce reflection or flat white to increase the light?

will it make any difference painting it?

edit... sorry I see this should have gone in Equipment.

Re: Switching back to condensor head, 45MCRX, from cold light

Just curious, why use an LED bulb? Is the regular 212 not bright enough or is there some special result that is achieved with LED.

I must admit, I like them in my flashlights, but I have a lifetime supply of 212s, and they are plenty bright enough for me.

The interior of my CB7 and 45MXII condenser heads are white, as you describe, but the interior of my CB7 point light head (with a tiny bulb) is black. I have no idea why -- but an LED would be closer to the size of the PLS bulb. There must be a reason, so perhaps black will work better. That is just a guess. They both seem to create the same illumination edge to edge for me. Beseler must have done it for a reason.

One point (ha,ha) to consider is, the point light source head is taller than the condenser head body. Again, I don't know why. Beseler must have done it for a reason.

So it's worked for 30 years and you feel a need to change it?

"One point (ha,ha) to consider is, the point light source head is taller than the condenser head body. Again, I don't know why. Beseler must have done it for a reason."
    The additional height is necessary in order to focus the light correctly for various sized prints.