Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 37 of 37

Thread: Scitex Eversmart Calibration Slide

  1. #31

    Re: Scitex Eversmart Calibration Slide

    Good to know, Jim.

    What are some of the things I should look at before I purchase them? Are there any lights that indicate certain problems or anything similar to that?

    I'm also wondering about how the film is held in place. I know Epson has special film holders (which apparently are total garbage, especially if your film curves a bit). From the pictures I have seen it seems like the film is just placed in the scanner without any special holder, so it's basically "sandwiched" between two the glass plates.

  2. #32

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    1,299

    Re: Scitex Eversmart Calibration Slide

    You're correct - the Eversmats/IQsmarts don't use holders. There are masks for different film sizes or you can get a blank one and cut yout own, but a lot of folks just tape the negs to the glass.

  3. #33

    Re: Scitex Eversmart Calibration Slide

    That is very convenient.

    Is there a way to check if the scanners are ok apart from the calibration?

  4. #34
    Pali K Pali K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    993

    Re: Scitex Eversmart Calibration Slide

    Since the scanners is coming with a G3 computer, it should already have Eversmart Scan installed. A calibration / test utility comes with the software that you can run to check the scanner. It will let you know if there is anything wrong with the scanner hardware, calibration, or software.

    Also the scanner status led should be green. Blinking RED could indicate a hardware issue or could be a loose panel.

    Pali

  5. #35

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    144

    Re: Scitex Eversmart Calibration Slide

    USB on old Macs of v1.1 and are terribly slow (unusable for scans transfers)
    Theoretically you can drive your scanner from under Mac OSX if you manage to find the right Eversmaert software for it and a working Ratoc FR1SX FireWire(IEEE1394) to Ultra SCSI Converter.

    SergeyT

  6. #36
    Unwitting Thread Killer Ari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    4,988

    Re: Scitex Eversmart Calibration Slide

    Quote Originally Posted by SergeyT View Post
    USB on old Macs of v1.1 and are terribly slow (unusable for scans transfers)
    Theoretically you can drive your scanner from under Mac OSX if you manage to find the right Eversmaert software for it and a working Ratoc FR1SX FireWire(IEEE1394) to Ultra SCSI Converter.

    SergeyT
    With respect, I disagree, Sergey.
    I use G4 with Eversmart Pro; I scan directly to USB key, and when I'm done all scans, I transfer to Mac mini.
    Works faster than my previous set-up, a MacBook Pro and Epson v750.

  7. #37

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    1,299

    Re: Scitex Eversmart Calibration Slide

    I run my IQsmart 2 from a middle aged Macbook Pro saving the files to a USB stick which I then transfer to my REAL (Windows) computers. My Modus Operandi is simple - load a bunch of negs on the scanner, start the scan, and go to sleep.The scans will be finished by morning.

Similar Threads

  1. Looking for calibration slide Eversmart Supreme
    By mjk in forum LF DIY (Do It Yourself)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15-Apr-2013, 01:59
  2. calibration slide of Eversmart pro scanner
    By aming in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7-Jan-2013, 16:28
  3. Scitex Eversmart pro II
    By beautyfuldaisy in forum On Photography
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28-Jan-2008, 02:41

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •