Thread: Lense scratches and affects

Lense scratches and affects

Hi I am new to enlarging and printing and understanding how things work in regards to this particular photographic process I have D2 enlarger with a 135mm lens which is scrachted and when I run my finger nail over the scratches lightly they do catch. I was wondering technically what scratches do to the lens in relation to producing a good image. Does the light fracture wrong or is cut into different directions causing problem areas in the printed image. Also, what do scracthes cause in addition to smudges on the final print...does it mess up the image grain pattern.....or what?
    Thanks

I've always been amazed at how little a scratch really matters. I had an old Commercial Ektar with a nasty divot...darned if I could tell.

Much worse is a large number of fine scratches, which reduce contrast and introduce flare.

On the othe hand, enlarging lenses are giong cheap these days. You should be able to get a nice one off eBay for under $75 if you're patient.

Single scratches or even a few such scratches will usually not have a dramatic effect on the image. Such scratches scatter a bit more light than would normally be scattered. Scattered light produces what is called flare and decreased contrast in the image. If you can't see any effect in the image, then it is probably not important.

I've never tried this - but have heard that if a scratch does introduce unwanted flare, this can be remedied without otherwise adversely affecting image quality by rubbing some water based black ink into the scratch - then cleaning the surrounding surface. Makes sense, but maybe someone else who has actually tried this can comment further.

Hello.