Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Are G Claron lenses interchangeable with the same shutter?

  1. #1

    Are G Claron lenses interchangeable with the same shutter?

    Hi,

    So I have a 210mm f9 g claron, I bought it years ago for 10x8 macro photography, which it was very good for.

    I plan on using it outside to see how it performs as a wide lens, I understand that it may have limitations when movements are used, so if I wanted to get a 270mm g claron to use instead of the 210mm would I be able to just swap out the front and rear elements, using the shutter that the 210mm is currently in?

    The shutter was re-marked by the previous owner so that the aperture was appropriate for the 210mm, if I swapped for a 270mm would it need to be recalibrated again?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Corran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    GA, USA
    Posts
    4,943

    Re: Are G Claron lenses interchangeable with the same shutter?

    Quote Originally Posted by DannyTreacy View Post
    would I be able to just swap out the front and rear elements, using the shutter that the 210mm is currently in?
    Not necessarily. Even different G-Clarons of the same focal length may use different shutters depending on their age as the design was changed during their production life. First off you didn't say what shutter your 210mm is in. If it's a Copal 1, as it probably is, you'll need to see if the 270mm goes into a Copal 1 as well. I know the older GC lenses are bigger and therefore if the 270mm you are looking at is older than around 11 million it definitely needs a larger shutter.

    Quote Originally Posted by DannyTreacy View Post
    The shutter was re-marked by the previous owner so that the aperture was appropriate for the 210mm, if I swapped for a 270mm would it need to be recalibrated again?

    Thanks
    The aperture is only good for the focal length it is made for. You can get a rough approximation though - a 210mm lens at f/16 would have an apparent aperture of 13.125mm. A 270mm lens with that opening would correspond to an f-stop of f/20.6. Basically you can "correct" the aperture by adding about 2/3 of a stop to the written number in your head.

    By the way, 270mm GC lenses are probably a bit rarer than other focal lengths. Possibly look for a 305mm - which newer ones should fit into a Copal 1 shutter I believe. Older ones do NOT, I have two of this type.
    Bryan | Blog | YouTube | Instagram
    All comments and thoughtful critique welcome

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Sheridan, Colorado
    Posts
    885

    Re: Are G Claron lenses interchangeable with the same shutter?

    All of the G Clarons cover at least 8x10" -- but only at 1:1. At infinity, you have to use a 270mm or longer. Others will chime in, but I assume that at least two shutters were used, for example, #1 and #3 (on the longer lenses). As to using a 270mm as a not-terribly-wide-angle taking lens, you'll need to get the elements -- without a shutter -- then figure out if they fit your shutter, and then realize you will probably get better results if you reverse the lens!
    Last edited by xkaes; 6-Nov-2017 at 14:44.

  4. #4
    Corran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    GA, USA
    Posts
    4,943

    Re: Are G Claron lenses interchangeable with the same shutter?

    In response to the above, it's not good to generalize the G-Claron line. Older "Dagor" type lenses have massive coverage - the 305mm covering ULF up to 8x20. Newer "Plasmat" lenses at 240mm and above cover 8x10 with plenty of movement, and even the 210mm from what I understand covers 8x10 barely. I state this with experience - I have a 240mm GC Plasmat for my 8x10 and the 305mm Dagor for 8x20. When you get down to the 150mm GC Plasmat, yes you'd need to focus close up to get coverage on 8x10. I use that lens for macro 4x5 images occasionally.

    I have never wished for more sharpness from my GC lenses regardless of the element placement. Use them as-is at near infinity and you will be just fine.
    Bryan | Blog | YouTube | Instagram
    All comments and thoughtful critique welcome

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    6,467

    Re: Are G Claron lenses interchangeable with the same shutter?

    According to the catalog, the 210/9 G-Claron's cells fit a #1. So do the 270/9 G-Claron's cells. This is true for dagor type and plasmat type G-Clarons.

    A #1 Compur/Copal/Prontor shutter is a #1 Compur/Copal/Prontor is a #1 ...

    Just do it. Yes, the shutter will have to be scaled for the 270.

  6. #6
    Drew Wiley
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    SF Bay area, CA
    Posts
    10,591

    Re: Are G Claron lenses interchangeable with the same shutter?

    My 240 G-Claron easily covers 8X10 at infinity. Don't get confused by the official specs intended for graphics rather than general photography standards. And these are very sharp lenses at infinity, as well as close up.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Collinsville, CT USA
    Posts
    635

    Re: Are G Claron lenses interchangeable with the same shutter?

    Can not remember where I read this but someone wrote that they took the front elements from one Computar lens and combined them with the rear elements of another focal length Computar to get, I believe, more coverage. If true, I wonder if this could be done with a pair of G-Clarons? Obviously both G-Clarons have to be using the same shutter. Just a thought...

    Does anyone have a list of the shutter sizes that the G-Clarons came in?
    Last edited by Greg; 6-Nov-2017 at 17:14. Reason: added text

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    6,467

    Re: Are G Claron lenses interchangeable with the same shutter?

    Greg, go here: http://www.largeformatphotography.in...mainly)-lenses Schneider URLs are in the list. Look 'em up.

    Jim Galli has advocated using unequal cells from dagor type G-Clarons to make a casket set. I don't see the point of it, the possible combinations have focal lengths fairly close to those of G-Clarons with matching cells, but that's not a good reason not to play.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Madisonville, LA
    Posts
    1,385

    Re: Are G Claron lenses interchangeable with the same shutter?

    Quote Originally Posted by xkaes View Post
    As to using a 270mm as a not-terribly-wide-angle taking lens, you'll need to get the elements -- without a shutter -- then figure out if they fit your shutter, and ..............
    My 270 Dagor type lens is in a Compur #1 shutter! Schneider literature also lists the 270 in the #1. My 240 Dagor type and 210 Plasmat type both also fit in a #1.

  10. #10

    Re: Are G Claron lenses interchangeable with the same shutter?

    Thanks for all the info on this.

    What's the difference between a plasmat and dagor type g claron and how can I tell which type my 210 is?

    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Looking into G Claron lenses
    By Noah B in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 14-Dec-2012, 17:05
  2. Is an Ilex #3 shutter interchangeable with anything else?
    By Steve Goldstein in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-Jan-2010, 16:16

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •