Thread: Lecture on Petzval Lenses, Tucson, Oct. 5

Stuck inside of Tucson with the Neverland Blues again...

Lecture on Petzval Lenses, Tucson, Oct. 5

For anyone in Tucson, AZ who's interested in historic optics, Dr. Jose Sasian of the University of Arizona's College of Optical Sciences will be presenting a lecture on "Joseph Petzval's Lens Design Approach" this Thursday, Oct. 5, 2017, at the monthly meeting of the Western Photographic Historical Society. The meeting is at 7:00 pm at the Ward Six City Council Meeting Rooms, 3202 East First Street, Tucson, AZ.

Hope to see a few of you there!
    "I love my Verito lens, but I always have to sharpen everything in Photoshop..."

After many years of working as a self-taught lens designer, I went through U of A's Optical Sciences graduate program to get some formal education. Dr. Sasian was my professor for a couple of lens design courses. Very good instructor, and I was always fond of the historical perspective he provided to the design forms. He taught Petzval's design as part of his course, amongst many other well-known forms.

If you are in the area, I highly recommend attending his talk. I would love to watch a live feed if it was available.
    Newly made large format dry plates available! Look:
    https://www.pictoriographica.com

Re: Lecture on Petzval Lenses, Tucson, Oct. 5

If I could attend, I would ask the following questions. I have never found a satisfactory answer to them!

1. What did the redesign of the Petzval/Voigtlander Petzval - in order to bring together the visual and chemical focal lengths - consist of?

2. The Dallmeyer revision of the rear elements in order to introduce softness into the Petzval was considered as bogus by many of his competitors. They claimed that increasing the distance between the front and rear elements of the standard design acheived the same sort of "flou". Has anyone done any testing of the differences?