Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Highest quality enlarger

Highest quality enlarger

Hi to everyone.

I would like your help making a decision. I am just getting into large format photography and need to buy an enlarger.
    I just bought a 4x5 large format camera and I have a keen interest at some point in possibly buying a 6x17 camera as well,
    so I may have to go for a 5x7 enlarger. The only thing that would stop me in doing so, would be if it were way too expensive
    or way too big. In that case, I would go for a 4x5 enlarger only (and not buy the 6x17 camera). I understand from all the info
    I've received via the internet that Durst would be the top contender in the high quality enlarger category. I've used Devere in my
    local rental darkroom and found that there is a wheel for the head and another for the lens stage, but there is no fine focuse adjustment
    possible as there is on the Saunders 4x5 enlargers (I used to have the Saunders 4x5 enlarger). The enlarger I'm looking for should
    have the fine focusing ability, the ability to easily align everything (head. lens stage and base). I've read that the Zone VI 5x7 enlargers
    are rock sturdy and have everything I"m looking for. I am only interested in Durst, Devere, Saunders and Zone VI. Can you shed light
    on all these enlargers strengths and weaknesses? I liked the Saunders, but you can only align by using shims - I think that's rather
    a poor way to do that. I would like an enlarger that has that engineered in. Thank you so much in advance.

Ron

Highest quality enlarger