Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How many of you were taught (in LF) ?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

How many of you were taught (in LF) ?

Since there is already an interesting thread entitled How many of you are self-taught (in LF)? perhaps we should ask the complementary question: Have you been taught in LF ?

Some of our members have had the good fortune to study under or become acquainted with influential photographers: some well known, others just influential to them personally. Even a critique of one's work or a single photo can be influential and instructive.

Perhaps this would be a good place to share: inspiring and informative anecdotes as well as stories of disappointment or surprise.
    Last edited by Ken Lee; 8-Sep-2017 at 19:22.

Re: How many of you were taught (in LF) ?

Hi Ken,

I've never had the opportunity ($$) to study under anyone expert in the field.

I'd certainly like to. Perhaps one day.

- Leigh
    If you believe you can, or you believe you can't... you're right.

I studied Professional Photography at RIT and received a Bachelor's degree in 1980. A majority of my work was shot on 4x5, both in studio and on location. One of my first year Professors was Les Stroebel, who taught a class called Materials and Processes of Photography. He was also the author of our textbook! Wish I had asked him to autograph it...

W K Longcor

Got my BS in pro photo at RIT class of '69. And I got texts autographed by Les, c.b. Neblett, and B. Newhall.

There was no access to mentors when I began this never-ending learning process, especially since my interest was truly kindled at age 13... quite a few years ago.

multiplex

i was an apprentice to a portrait photographer who shot 5x7 before i got a lf camera. as a result
    i processed sheet film, retouched negatives ( with lead ) and enlarged/contact printed sheet film. she didn't